Dr. Laurence R. Meyerson and Deborah L. Faiman Neuroscience Student Travel Award
What is it? The Dr. Laurence R. Meyerson and Deborah L. Faiman Neuroscience Student Travel Award provides $1000 toward the cost of travel and registration for a student who will be presenting original data at the annual Society for Neuroscience meeting. It has been generously funded by Dr. Meyerson (who received his PhD from School of Graduate and Postdoctoral studies in 1974) and Ms. Faiman, a medical research philanthropist, whose interests lie in biological psychiatry, addiction, neurodegenerative diseases, stem cell research and seizure disorders.

Can I use the Award for any meeting? No. To synchronize the application process, this Award must be used towards the Society for Neuroscience meeting, held in the fall. Otherwise, students would be applying throughout the year, for meetings at various times, and it would be impossible to insure that the best application was awarded the funds in time to attend the desired meeting.

Who is eligible? Any full-time PhD student in the Interdepartmental Neuroscience PhD Program who is first author on an abstract submitted to the SFN meeting this November in San Diego, CA.

How do you apply? By submitting a copy of the Abstract you are presenting, along with a 1-page statement describing: 1) your overall contribution to both the development of this project and data collection/analysis, and 2) how these findings advance research in your field. Submissions should be sent to Linda.Hinthorne@rosalindfranklin.edu.

Deadline: July 31, 2013.

Past recipients

2012:  The fellowship was awarded to Angela Bruno, a 5th year student in Bill Frost's lab, who traveled to the Society for Neuroscience meeting in New Orleans to present the poster, "Optical recording and community structure analysis reveal the spatio-temporal organization of neural ensembles in a rhythmic motor network." 

2011:  Jeff Huang and Angela Bruno shared the 2011 award, with which they traveled to Washington DC to present a portion of their graduate work at the Society for Neuroscience annual meeting.  Jeff is a student in Bob Marr's lab.  His poster presentation was titled "Altered NEP2 expression and activity in mild cognitive impairment and Alzheimer's disease."  Angela is a student in Bill Frost's lab, and the title of her presentation was "Use of large scale optical recording to rapidly identify the structure of the Aplysia pedal ganglion locomotion network." 

2009: Shreaya Chakroborty and Alex Dec were both recipients of the 2009 travel award, which they used to present their work at the Society for Neuroscience national meeting in Chicago. Shreaya is a graduate student in Beth Stutzmann's lab and presented her poster, "Altered ryanodine receptor-mediated calcium signaling triggers SK channel activity and enhances long-term depression in young Alzheimer's disease mice." Alex, a graduate student in Tony West's lab, presented his poster "Impact of neonatal NOS-1 inhibitor exposure on prefrontal-temporolimbic integration in the rat nucleus accumbens."

2008: Dina Simkin, a 3rd year graduate student in Donghee Kim's lab in the Dept. of Physiology. Dina presented her poster, "The N-terminus regulates the unitary conductance level of TREK (K22.1 and K2P10.1) channels" at the Society for Neuroscience Meeting in Washington DC.

2007: Jeremy Reimers, a 4th year graduate student in Marina Wolf's lab in the Dept. of Neuroscience. Jeremy presented his poster, "A Quantitative Analysis of AMPA Receptor Subunit Composition in Addiction-Related Brain Regions" at the Society for Neuroscience Meeting in San Diego. 
Life in Discovery
3333 Green Bay Road, North Chicago, Il 60064-3095 • 847-578-3000